Wk 12- Activity- ePortfolio

This week’s activity asked us students to modify our blogs with the intent that we will continue to use this medium even when our class ends. It can be used to display anything- voice our opinions, interests, hobbies, etc. As for myself, I found this activity to be the push that I needed to actually start the blog I’ve been wanting to do since high school, that of which is a lifestyle blog. For the longest time I have admired the creativity of famous bloggers such as Natalie Suarez of NatalieoffDuty or the more known Amie Song of SongofStyle. The list can go on and on. And while these bloggers have created a career out of their blogs, earning their riches from endorsing big name brands, I wouldn’t even mind if no one read my blog. As strange as it may sound, blogging to me can be personal or public. It is just a modernized form of a diary. And I think for me, it would be nice to have an advanced outlet to document my experiences and interests through not only writing, but also visual content. The best part I think that comes with having a blog is the ability to be creative with it while at the same time having all your thoughts organized under one URL.

For the startup blog I created, I used a different site called Square Space. I chose this site because I like the way it is formatted as well as the templates it offers. Personally, I haven’t chosen a name for my blog yet because I have commitment issues and I want it to be creative and clever. Or maybe even a pun. But either way, that is one decision that I think will pave the way into the development of my blog. As stated above I would like to do a lifestyle blog. Basically that means I can incorporate anything that revolves around my life and if that is so , I would focus on many things that interest me- fashion, food, traveling, art, design, culture, etc. However, I think what excites me most is how challenging it will be on my writing abilities. Writing is a form of art and I believe it takes great skill to put your thoughts and vision into words in ways that people will hear your voice. So it’ll be interesting to be able to see the progression of my talents in all areas- writing, photography, and web design.

I think the most challenging part about having a blog is maintaining it. In the event that I did have any followers, I feel like I would have the need to update it regularly with news about how my life is going. In a fashion merchandising class I took last semester, we had a guest speaker come and talk about how she created her fashion blog. I would say this girl is semi-famous ( her Instagram is @StyledDuplex) and she told us that commitment was one of the biggest issues with her blog. It was time consuming to have to constantly go out and take pictures or find something interesting or “hipster enough” to post about. And I guess this is where I explain why I have a small disliking for public blogs that aim for attention and recognition. I find it very fake at times which is why I would rather keep mine disclosed to only close friends and family. Furthermore, I wouldn’t my blog to be the reason why I go out or why I get dressed up, then that really isn’t a lifestyle anymore but more a career.

Conclusively, I am excited to see where this page will go in terms of its content. I hope to cover an array of topics and watch it grow with pictures and detail. Lastly, I would like to thank Professor Zucman for pushing us students to take advantage of the sources that we have today. I really enjoyed Tuesdays lecture on how media has evolved and is now a true representation of free speech, versus what it used to be many many moons ago. Because with that, I found inspiration to do my blog for those who couldn’t back in the day. It would be nice to have something to hold on to and maybe look back on 20 years from now.

Screen Shot 2015-11-15 at 9.53.46 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-15 at 9.52.52 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-15 at 9.52.26 PM

Leave a Reply

