Wk 5- Activity- Deep Ethnography

On Thursday, September 24th, I spent the whole night without electricity. Luckily, one of my roommates, Taylor, was home that night because if not, I would have been terrified and probably would have gone to sleep once the sun had set. Alas, since I was not alone, I attempted to see if I could achieve a fun and somewhat normal night without electricity. Most of our time was spent in the living room, where we set up 3 candles on top of the coffee table. As the sun fell, I was really scared that I was going to break. Personally, I can admit I still don’t like the dark, so it could have been so easy to walk over and flip one little switch on. But my roommate, who is always positive and persistent, wouldn’t allow me to. Surprisingly, as the time passed, it wasn’t as bad as we thought. We had our junk food and board games and just laughed the night away as we talked about the most random things. That was mostly what we did all night. And once things started to slow down, we just headed to bed- extremely early. This was one thing that I realized had a huge effect on whether we had electricity on or not. If it was any other night, we most likely would have stayed up until 1 in the morning watching movies or laying in bed on our phones. But on that Thursday night, what else was there to do other than what we already had done for about 3 hours. I didn’t feel like reading a book by candle light because that strains my eyes, and cleaning wouldn’t be efficient because I would have to have a candle in one of my hands and a broom in the other. And that is when I truly felt for those in the past who had to endure this hardship that now is so mundane to our daily life. And although that may also sound difficult, it is even simpler. Electricity, despite its benefits in many ways, is also poisonous. It cuts off our communication and ability to do things for our selves. I can even honestly admit that that Thursday night, was the longest and best night I spent with my roommate. Because on any other day, yes we would hang out in the living room together, but we wouldn’t talk as much because we were so focused on watching something on the TV or going on our phones. Yet on that night, I was actually able to get to know her. And that is where I put more faith in the phrase “enjoy the simple things” because that is what Thursday night was, and I enjoyed it a lot.

IMG_1060

Leave a Reply

